Muñiz Makes LPTC History

Muñiz Makes LPTC History

The 2017-18 Division II Region XI Women's All-Region teams were announced today. Kirkwood and NIACC lead all teams with three First Team honorees each, while DMACC, Ellsworth, Iowa Lakes and Southeastern each had one. 

Jazlynn Muñiz made Little Priest Tribal College history by becoming the first player, in either women's or men's basketball, to be named an all-region player twice. Muniz was named to the ICCAC Division II All-Region 2nd Team. The sophomore from Weslaco, Texas was the league's second leading scorer after averaging 16.2 points per game and lead the league in three-pointers made with 2.9 per game. 

Southeastern guard Nadirah Oakman headlines the All-Region First Team. The sophomore from Colorado Springs was recognized as the 2017-18 ICCAC Division II Women's Basketball Player of the Year. Oakman scored 20 points or more in 15 of 32 games this season and was the league's overall leading scorer at 18.3 points per game

Kirkwood had three different players earn First Team honors this season.

Awal Ajak, Des Moines native, was the second leading scorer for the Eagles at 8.5 points per game in conference play. She shot 48-percent from the floor and was 19th in the nation in three-point percentage at 42.9 percent.

Tayana Wilson, the Region XI Tournament MVP, was the Eagles top scorer at 11.4 points per game. She finished third in the conference in assists with 54 and was sixth in steals with 24. The sophomore guard out of Country Club Hills, Ill. played in 12 of the 14 ICCAC games.

Lastly for Kirkwood was guard Megan Axcell. The sophomore knocked down a team-leading 26 conference three-pointers and shot at a 44.1 percent clip. She averaged 7.8 points per game and 4.4 rebounds. Axcell is from Knoxville, Ill.

NIACC also had three players make the All-Region First Team. 

Sophomore Taylor Laabs had a 40-point performance this season at NIACC's game at Southwestern on Feb. 3. She ended up second on the team in scoring during conference play with putting up 16.8 points per game for the high-powered Trojan offense. She led the conference in three-pointers made (36) and steals (33).   

Mikayla Homola was one of two freshmen voted to the First Team. From Maple Grove, Minn., she posted a league-high 19.1 points per game in ICCAC competition including the most field goals made (92) and second most threes made (39). 

UU Longs was the Trojans third selection. As the team's point guard, she filled the stat sheet as, finishing as in the top three on the team in points (11.4), rebounds (4.4) and assists (3.1). From Minneapolis, Minn., she was named to the 2018 All-Tournament Team as well.

DMACC's sophomore center Molly Mitchell earned First Team honors this year for the Bears. The Okoboji, Iowa native, who was a Second Team selection last year, finished second in the conference in rebounds per game (8.7) and was second in shooting percentage (57.7%), while averaging a team-leading 16 points per game.

Ellsworth's Emily Ferrier was the other freshman in Region XI to earn First Team All-Region honors this season. In addition to a team-high seven rebounds per game, the forward from Frankston, Australia averaged a team-leading 17.4 points per game, which ranked third in the ICCAC.

Rounding out the team was sophomore center Mia Wassink from Iowa Lakes, who selected to the First Team for the second consecutive year.  Wassink, from Edgerton, Minn., was second in the conference with 8.6 rebounds per game and was sixth in the conference in scoring, averaging 15.4 points per contest.

The All-Region teams are selected by coaches vote, in which a coach votes on the nominees and cannot vote for their own players.



Position Name Class School Hometown
C Molly Mitchell SO DMACC Okoboji, IA
F Emily Ferrier FR Ellsworth Frankston, Australia
C Mia Wassink SO Iowa Lakes Edgerton, MN
G Awal Ajak SO Kirkwood Des Moines, IA
G Tayana Wilson SO Kirkwood Country Club Hills, IL
G Megan Axcell SO Kirkwood Knoxville, IL
G Taylor Laabs SO NIACC Princeton, MN
F Mikayla Homola FR NIACC Maple Grove, MN
G UU Longs SO NIACC Minneapolis, MN
G Nadirah Oakman SO Southeastern Colorado Springs, CO



Position Name Class School Hometown
G Joniqua Clark SO DMACC Cedar Rapids, IA
F Beth Atwood SO DMACC Packwood, IA
F Alicia Limones FR Ellsworth Belividere, IL
G Brittany West FR Iowa Central Shakopee, MN
F Sarah Rolling SO Iowa Central Bancroft, IA
C Lemia Ntor-Ue SO Iowa Lakes Brooklyn Park, MN
F Olivia Usher SO Kirkwood Fairfax, IA
F Nyachirstmas Puok SO Kirkwood Des Moines, IA
G Jazlynn Muniz SO Little Priest Weslaco, TX
F Khalilah Holloway SO NIACC Minneapolis, MN
G Makenzie Pezley FR Southeastern Keokuk, IA
G T'Keyah Stapleton SO Southwestern Omaha, NE



Position Name Class School Hometown
G Regan Shockley SO DMACC Hartley, IA
PG Marissa Ruiz SO Iowa Lakes Saint Paul, MN
PG Marisela Perez SO Iowa Lakes Denver, CO
F Calynn Jackson FR Iowa Lakes Indianapolis, IN
F Arika Wooldridge SO Kirkwood Center Point, IA
F Cici Kieger FR NIACC Woodbury, MN
F Ciera Walker SO Southeastern Casa Grande, AZ
G Andreisha Waller FR Southeastern Homestead, FL
G Keaundra Washington SO Southwestern Omaha, NE
F Jasmine Aviles FR Southwestern Crawfordville, FL


2018 All-Tournament Team
# Player College Class
32 Sarah Roling Iowa Central So.
4 Tayana Wilson** Kirkwood So.
50 Arika Wooldridge Kirkwood So.
33 Olivia Usher Kirkwood So.
4 UU Longs NIACC So.
2 Mikayla Homola NIACC Fr.
24 Nadirah Oakman Southeastern So.
**Tournament MVP    

Coach of the Year: Kim Muhl, Kirkwood
Player of the Year: Nadirah Oakman, Southeastern